Ardmore Brewing 2010 Imperial Pumpkin Porter (2012)

Ardmore Brewing  2010 Imperial Pumpkin Porter is about 8% ABV.

I poured some of this 12 oz bottle of homebrew into two plastic cups.

Appearance: A steady pour gave a 1/8 of an inch thin, very light tan head. The color is a dark reddish brown, maybe a little lighter than a cola, and more red. It looks light for a porter.

Smell: First, I’m getting sour notes. I’m also getting some rum notes and dark fruit. There’s a definite yeast presence. The pumpkin is not very clear in the smell – I don’t think I would be able to tell it’s a pumpkin beer from smell alone.

Taste: There are sourish notes upfront, but they’re not unpleasant. I can taste the yeast pretty clearly too, and some woody notes. There’s something a little strange about the taste, maybe from the yeast. I’m not getting a dominant pumpkin flavor, but this may be hidden by the yeasty taste. There’s not much sweetness, and no real spices. The finish is tart and sour, extending into the aftertaste.

Feel: This is medium bodied with heavy carbonation. The finish is a little chalky. Not great here for feel.

Drinkability: This beer is not greatly drinkable, but the fruity yeast is kind of nice. The sourness creates some acidity. The ABV is higher too, so this makes it a little less drinkable.

Overall: This was the second beer I am trying tonight that my friend Ben brought me. He got them from Tyler Flynn in Ardmore, Pennsylvania. I was very excited to try this one, as I was about all of the beers Tyler gave Ben to share. Ben and I were with some other folks at the state arboretum in Virginia. So the experience of sitting down to try some of these beers was really quite nice. As far as overall thoughts go, I think this beer is kind of odd. There’s not a lot of pumpkin or clear spicing. The sour yeast and wood could be more balanced. It’s definitely a little funky. I think it is interesting to try, but not really a contender qua pumpkin beer.

Overall Rating: *1/2

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Ardmore Brewing 2010 Imperial Pumpkin Porter (2012)

  1. Pingback: Ardmore Brewing Pumpkin Porter (2012) | thoughts on pumpkin beer

Leave a Reply

